Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New marker and Questions galore

New marker and Questions galore

I am thinking about buying a marker as a few of you know and am doing alot of research and though maybe some of you would like chime in with suggestions on what marker you'd recomend for a newb. Also what things to look for and what to look out for.

Ok don't everyone speak out at once, one at a time please

Administrator
    August Knights
    Chief Operations Officer

"This place is like someone's memory of a town, and the memory is fading. "
    I wasn't saying anything because you and I have already discussed this at length in email...
    The sun has fallen down
    And the billboards are all leering
    And the flags are all dead at the top of their poles.

Yes and thanks again Squidly. Here is another question then, what is the advantage of electric triggers over manual ? as a newb I would think that if you can shoot more paint faster that would be better but..... I am probably wrong. Is this just another peice that can go wrong ? break, dead batteries and what not ?

Administrator
    August Knights
    Chief Operations Officer

Electric triggers offer enhanced sensitivity (woohoo!) What that means is that you can tune your trigger to the point where it basically has the travel of a mouse click (or less) to start the firing process. That's the way I have my gun set up.

Electric guns also sometimes offer "firing modes". 1 press = 3 shots, press and hold = full auto, that sort of thing. Verbotten for tourneys of course.

The downside to electric guns is that you can't immerse them in water. In most cases nothing will happen if you play in the rain, but in a torrential downpour you probably ought to "pack it in". Battery life isn't too big a deal. My Angel has a big honkin' NI-MH thing, and you just plug it in to your charger. Most lower end electrics use 9v batteries. Keep 2-3 in your paintball toolbox and you'll never have a problem.